After

I feel like I am finally rising up after a challenging and exhausting school year (and especially Spring). The push to get everything planted came in the midst of planning graduation, trips, and a leadership transition at my school.

I have been grateful to the people who have offered hands, sweat and muscle to help make this season possible. Yesterday I was able to walk around visiting my transplants and see that they are starting to grow. Hopefully this means that they have established roots as well.

Each year I add to this story of the farm, usually starting with seedlings in the greenhouse in February and petering out in July or August as the weight of other priorities take over or the photos start to feel repetitive. This year I am late to the game. The plants are all out of the greenhouse and mostly thriving.

The last week was my first week of Summer break and it was an opportunity to start sinking in deeper. During the school year, I squeeze in as many hours as I need to on the weekends to get the farm started, but in the summer I can begin to ooze around. I like being able to make a to-do list (weed, spray with soapy water, put up bean trellis, transplant x, seed y) and start with something on that list, but be completely free to let the farm lead me where it will. In most of my life I am very efficient and focused, but I let the farm and its needs and whisperings distract me and pull me from one task to another. I keep reminding myself of “it is all good work,” and “it all needs to get done” to I keep the tendrils of anxiety that want to tell me that I wont get it all done or I am not doing the most pressing task at bay.

The bugs are trying me. Starting off before I could even get on top of things with flea beetles attacking all of my kohl crops. Perhaps I will make an effort to figure out what to do differently to prevent them and other pests, but for now I am just trying to keep up with them.

Here are some photos of the farm today.

Summer squash
Tomatoes
Volunteer cilantro, dill and lettuce around the onions
Spinach, arugula and roasted radish over pasta

1 thought on “After

  1. beautiful meditation on “oozing around”

    this part, especially, stays with me “but I let the farm and its needs and whisperings distract me and pull me from one task to another. I keep reminding myself of “it is all good work,” and “it all needs to get done”

Leave a comment